What Are Accessory Organs of the Digestive System?

About the human digestive organs should be called the digestive system.

Digestive organ

About the human digestive organs should be called the digestive system.
Digestive system
Clinically, the mouth is often
What organs does the human digestive system include?
The human digestive system consists of the digestive tract and the digestive glands.
The human digestive tract includes the oral cavity, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, small intestine (including duodenum, jejunum, ileum) and large intestine (including cecum, appendix, colon, rectum). Clinically, the digestive tract is often divided into the upper digestive tract (the digestive tract above the duodenum) and the lower digestive tract (the digestive tract below the duodenum).
The digestive glands include oral glands, liver, pancreas, and many small glands on the wall of the digestive tract. Their main function is to secrete digestive juice.
During the entire life activity, the human body must ingest nutrients from the outside as a source of energy for life activity, and meet the needs of a series of metabolic activities such as human development, growth, reproduction, and tissue repair. The organs of the human digestive system coordinate and cooperate to physically and chemically digest food taken from the outside, absorb its nutrients, and excrete food residues. It is an important system to ensure the normal metabolism of the human body.
How is the upper and lower digestive tract distinguished?
The distinction between the upper and lower digestive tract is artificial, and it is divided according to its position in the Treitz ligament. The digestive tract located above this ligament is called the upper digestive tract, and the digestive tract below the Treitz ligament is called the lower digestive tract.
Treitz ligament, also known as duodenal suspensory ligament, has a bundle of muscle fiber cords from the right corner of the diaphragm. Treitz ligaments are an important indicator of the origin of the jejunum.
What organs and functions does the upper digestive tract have?
The upper digestive tract consists of the mouth, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, and duodenum.
(1) Oral: It consists of lips, cheeks, palate, teeth, tongue and oral glands. After the oral cavity is stimulated by food, the glands in the oral cavity secrete saliva, and the chewed food mixes with saliva. The smoothness of saliva passes through the esophagus, and the amylase in saliva can partially break down carbohydrates.
(2) Pharynx: It is the common passage of the respiratory tract and digestive tract. The pharynx can be divided into three parts: the nasopharynx, oropharynx, and laryngo-pharynx based on the pathways with the nasal cavity, oral cavity, and throat. The main function of the pharynx is to perform the complex reflex action of swallowing.
(3) Esophagus: The esophagus is a long, muscular muscle tube with a total length of about 25-30 cm. There are three narrow parts of the esophagus. These three narrow parts are susceptible to foreign body retention and are also the most common sites of esophageal cancer. The main function of the esophagus is to transport food into the stomach, followed by preventing air from entering the esophagus during breathing, and preventing the stomach contents from flowing back into the esophagus.
(4) Stomach: divided into four parts: gastric cardia, gastric fundus, gastric body and gastric antrum. The total volume of the stomach is about 1000-3000 ml. The gastric mucosa contains a large number of glands that can secrete gastric juice, which is acidic.Its main components are hydrochloric acid, sodium, potassium chloride, digestive enzymes, mucin, etc.The gastric juice has many functions, and its main role is to digest food and kill Bacteria in food, protect the gastric mucosa, and lubricate food, make food easy to pass in the stomach, etc.
The main function of the stomach is to hold and digest food. The esophagus that enters the stomach from the esophagus is mechanically and chemically digested in the stomach to form chyme, which is successively discharged into the duodenum by the movement of the stomach.
(5) Duodenum: the beginning of the small intestine. The length is equivalent to the width of the twelve fingers (approximately 25-30 cm), hence the name. The duodenum is C-shaped and surrounds the head of the pancreas, which can be divided into four parts: the upper part, the lower part, the lower part and the ascending part. Its main function is to secrete mucus, stimulate pancreatic digestive enzymes and bile secretion, and is an important digestive place for proteins.
What organs and functions does the lower digestive tract have?
The lower digestive tract consists of the jejunum, ileum, and large intestine.
(1) Jejunum and ileum: The jejunum starts from the duodenal jejunum, is connected to the ileum, and the ileum is connected to the cecum. The jejunum and ileum have no obvious boundaries. The length of the jejunum accounts for 2/5 of the total length, and the ileum accounts for 3/5. Both are small intestine. The main function of the jejunum and ileum is to digest and absorb food.
(2) Large intestine: The large intestine is the lower part of the digestive tract, including the cecum, appendix, colon and rectum. The adult large intestine is 1.5 meters in length and starts from the ileum. It is shaped like a box throughout and surrounds the jejunum and ileum. The main function of the large intestine is to further absorb water and electrolytes, to form, store, and excrete feces.
The digestive system consists of the digestive tract and the digestive glands.
First, the digestive tract consists of the oral cavity, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine and anus.
2. Digestive glands include salivary glands, liver, pancreas, and gastric and intestinal glands.
1. The salivary glands include the parotid, sublingual, and submandibular glands.
2. The liver is the largest digestive gland of the human body and an important organ for the metabolism and detoxification of the body.
3. The pancreas is an important digestive gland and an endocrine gland.
4. The gastric glands include the gastric fundus, the cardia, and the pylorus. There are also many important endocrine cells in the gastric mucosa.
5. The small intestine also has many small glands that secrete digestive enzymes and mucus.
The main function of the digestive system is to digest food, get nutrients from it, and excrete food residues.


Did this article help you? Thanks for the feedback Thanks for the feedback

How can we help? How can we help?